Debates on the Future of Robotics Research

Half-Day Workshop at ICRA 2022

"It is better to debate a question without settling it than to settle a question without debating it."

Joseph Joubert

As an interdisciplinary field that has the potential to change and be changed by numerous diverse stakeholders, the future and potential impact of robotics research are frequent subjects of debate. We believe making these debates more formal and public can be beneficial to the general community.

Following on from previous workshops at ICRA 2019, 2020, and 2021, the fourth iteration of the debates has been proposed for ICRA 2022.

Confirmed participants

Prof. Aaron M. Dollar

Yale University


Prof. Gusz Eiben

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam


Prof. Ayoung Kim

Seoul National University


Dr. Vasumathi Raman



Prof. Dylan Shell

Texas A&M University


Prof. Camillo J. Taylor

University of Pennsylvania


...and more to come!

Debate Structure

Total Length: 80 minutes

  • Introductions & initial audience poll (5 min)

  • Opening arguments (20 min = 4 debaters x 5 min each)

  • Moderated discussion between debaters + audience Q&A (20 min)

  • Closing remarks (10 min = 4 debaters x 2.5 min each)

  • Final audience poll + polling results (5 min)

  • Moderated panel debrief + audience Q&A (20 min)


Prof. Sylvia Herbert


General Co-Chair

Prof. Karthik Dantu

University at Buffalo

General Co-Chair

Sudharshan Suresh

Carnegie Mellon University

Technical Chair

Shreyas Kousik

Stanford University

Organizing Committee

Maíra Saboia

Vale Institute of Technology

Organizing Committee

Alexis E. Block


Organizing Committee

Federico Rossi

Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Organizing Committee

Khen Elimelech

Rice University

Organizing Committee

Benoit Rosa


Organizing Committee

Iris Andrussow

Max-Planck-Institute for Intelligent Systems

Organizing Committee

Advisory Committee

Prof. Florian Shkurti

University of Toronto

Prof. Jonathan Kelly

University of Toronto

Prof. Nico Hochgeschwender

Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Duygun Erol Barkana

Yeditepe University

Prof. Alexander Badri-Spröwitz

Max-Planck-Institute for Intelligent Systems

Prof. Xuesu Xiao

George Mason University | X, The Moonshot Factory | The University of Texas at Austin


Please address all inquiries and questions about the workshop to